Select Page

Albums by The Avalanches, Tame Impala, Miiesha and Alice Ivy are among the nine finalists for the coveted Australian Music Prize, details for which were announced Monday morning (Feb. 1).

The AMP, now in its 16th year, is inspired by Britain’s Mercury Music Prize and Canada’s Polaris Prize and is decided by an industry panel of judges, who are tasked with identifying creativity which “has produced some of the best Australian releases of the year.”

{“nid”:”9512833″,”type”:”post”,”title”:”The Weeknd, Harry Styles, Tame Impala Light up Australiau2019s 2020 Year-End Charts”,”relative_path”:”/articles/news/9512833/the-weeknd-harry-styles-australia-2020-year-end-aria-charts/”,”media”:{“width”:1548,”height”:1024,”extension”:”jpg”,”mime_type”:”image/jpeg”,”type”:”image”,”path”:””,”sizes”:[{“path”:””,”width”:1548,”height”:1024},{“path”:””,”width”:1548,”height”:1024}],”orientation”:”landscape”,”id”:”9358845″,”caption”:null,”credit”:null}}

Organizers said its longlist of 85 titles was whittled down to the nine finalists, which represent a “wide and diverse pool of talent from right around the country.”

The feedback “directly from artists who released albums in 2020 has been quite incredible; much praise for us being able to keep The AMP alive in a year that wasn’t alive in so many ways,” comments Scott Murphy, founder and director of the SoundMerch Australian Music Prize.

{“nid”:”9496470″,”type”:”post”,”title”:”Midnight Oil Sets Tour of Australia, Promises More Dates Later In 2021″,”relative_path”:”/articles/news/9496470/midnight-oil-2021-tour-australia/”,”media”:{“width”:1197,”height”:794,”extension”:”jpg”,”mime_type”:”image/jpeg”,”type”:”image”,”path”:””,”sizes”:[{“path”:””,”width”:1197,”height”:794},{“path”:””,”width”:1197,”height”:794}],”orientation”:”landscape”,”id”:”9496484″,”caption”:null,”credit”:null}}

“It could not have been done without the help of long term industry friends, especially APRA and the Mushroom Group, whose financial support remained intact for the 16th year.”

The winner will receive a check for A$20,000 ($15,000) check, courtesy of merchandise specialist SoundMerch, and is typically announced during the month of March.

Previous winners include A.B.Original, Courtney Barnett, The Jezabels, Eddy Current Suppression Ring and last year’s recipient, Sampa the Great.

The Soundmerch 2020 Australian Music Prize Finalists

Alice Ivy – Don’t Sleep

The Avalanches – We Will Always Love You

Blake Scott – Niscitam

Emma Donovan and The Putbacks – Crossover

Fanny Lumsden – Fallow

Gordon Koang – Unity

Miiesha – Nyaaringu

Tame Impala – The Slow Rush

Ziggy Ramo – Black Thoughts

Source link